Beeping, Monitor Screen Flickering - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Question Beeping, Monitor Screen Flickering

Hello,
A strange thing started happening to me today. I hear a series of beeps and then my monitor screen flickers. This happens every few minutes. The strange thing is that the beeping is coming out of my left speaker, which hasn't worked for months...

Does anyone have a clue what is happening?

Thanks,
Mike
__________________

mbain is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

when does this happen?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Hi Major, thanks for answering so quickly. I should have given more info.

It happens at different times, it really makes no difference what application I'm running.

I'm using an AMD Athlon chip (I think it's a 2400), with a Dell monitor and an All-In-Wonder video card. Do you need any other info?

Thanks,
Mike
mbain is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Did you change anything lately?



for yer soundcard you could:

download latest drivers
or
disable it and see if its still happening
or
take you card out and see if it still happens

also downoad latest drivers for your graphics card or try another monitor
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I will download all the latest drivers and see if that helps. Thanks a lot, you've been a BIG help!
Mike
mbain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.