Basic startup question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2004, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default Basic startup question...

My aunt gave me her Dell Optiplex GX150 and told me it has a bad mobo and apparently she belives it has something to do with a recently installed hard drive. I brought it home and started it up, it went through the "BIOS screen" (don't know the technical term, where it says DELL in huge letters and you can enter the setup screen), then the windows 98 "sky screen" momentarily flashes (~a tenth of a second) and I get a 'C:\' prompt. Thats it, any idea where to go from there?

Also, I don't know much about the hardware end of computers, but at this point it doesn't seem like there is a problem with the motherboard.
__________________

JJDChE is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

See what kind of Hard Drive is in it and go to the manufacture website.Download the Proper Utility to troubleshoot the hard drive.Check the drive see if you can find some errors with the drive itself.If it checks out ok i would write zero`s to the drive and do a fresh install of Windows 98.Try that aproach first.
It doesnt sound like the MB is damaged.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Cappy, thanks for the tip, I'll give it a shot...
JJDChE is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Try using a win98 boot disk to format it. It's what I would do in hard drvie problems
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Well, I used the PowerMax diagnostic program from the Maxtor website and, lo and behold, it tells me the drive is failing and gave me a diagnostic code to contact Maxtor with. The manufacture date on the case says Dec 2003, so there should still be a warranty on it.
JJDChE is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

this one is a good one for microbell, srrry i can't help though
jaksback is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

I would think so , Retail Western Digitals carry a 3 year warranty.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 02:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaknlisa619
this one is a good one for microbell, srrry i can't help though
I suppose I'll just get a new drive. Does it appear to you that there may be anything else that I could do? Or could it be another problem with the system?
JJDChE is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 02:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Fdisk it. It might be as simple as a bad windows install. Delete the old patitions and make new patitions. reformat and install win98 again. If you do have a bad hdd then usually you won't be able to formatt the drive. If the hdd won't allow you to formatt it using fdisk. then I'd venture to guess you have a bad hdd. Hdd's are cheap. You can get a 40 gig 7200 WD for around 60.00 to 70.00 bucks.
heavywx is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 04:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Well the drive reformatted fine, but now when I get to the A:\ prompt and type setup, I get a bad command or filename error. I'm assuming the CDRW drive isn't being recognized. How would I reinstall the drivers?
__________________

JJDChE is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.