Are Barebone PC's good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2004, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default Are Barebone PC's good?

i would like to LAN game but should i get a barbone or another case
plz give me some advice
__________________

Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

personally, i dont like barebone pcs . . .

i like the customize comps myself
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

k
thnx
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

also someone just told me that if i get an amd 2600 xp then i should only get pc 2700 ram beacause 3200 would be pointless as there is only a 333fsb on the CPU
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

is this right?
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

for overclocking yes, but if you down oc then go for 3200
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Only thing good about barebone pCs is the size very small compare to desktop PCs.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default

I use a barebone system as well as a tower. Oringinally I bought the barebones sytem for work related tasks. All I needed to run was MS Office, Outlook, Internet, dev tools. It catered for this task nicely.

Purchased it in Novemeber. Over Xmas I belatedly bought Warcraft III as I wanted to get back into that game (one of my all time faves) and the barebone was able to cope with this no problem.

I netwroked it to an existing tower for Warcraft against a friends, and still handles that just fine.

The system I picked up had room for an AGP card, so I've put one in and game performance increased accordingly.

As for portability, this thing rocks. I've carted it to parties to use as a jukebox as I've backed up a lot of my CD's onto it, and with Winamp on random play, nobody is fishing thru CD collections all night, and it sounds fine attached to an Amp (obviously the MP3 format lowers the sound quality a bit, but it's a party - who cares!).

I initially thought it would be a waste of money, but really, it's one of the best things I've bought. Handles a DSL connection just fine! Hardcore gaming might run it a little hot, but I'm a strategy/RPG fan so not pushing it to it's extremities.

OK, it will never be a high end machine, I admit that, but I do have a tower which is under constant upgrade, and the barebone was a cheap compact machine that serves a few alternate purposes to just sitting under a desk.

As long as there is a monitor at your destinations, it's a cheaper option than a laptop.

Just my 2 cents worth!
blackx is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 08:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

a barebone will be a good thing for a beginner computer builder
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 04:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea... u can take it apart n keep puttin it back together... teach yourself... thats what i did.. took mine apart myself a few times and put it back together!!
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.