Bandwidth - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default Bandwidth

Does the length of the connection from the phone jack to your computer affect the upload and download speed of a computer? Mine is currently 20 feet. Any response is appreciated.
__________________

24giovanni is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

No it does not, and I'm assuming your on dial-up. Your connect speed will be the same no matter how much cord you have. When distance attenuation really becomes a problem is in CAT5 cable over 100 ft.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

are you on dial-up?

when i had dial-up i had a long cord that went from the far end of one room to the far end of another room and the speed was similar to the computer on a very short cord

at most, you'll increase what, 0.5kb?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I think it does sometimes... I have a 100 foot cable and my connection dies more often than when my computer is sitting by the phone jack...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

I'm on dsl. Thanks guys.
24giovanni is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Ohhh...DSL..

What you should do is have the modem close to the phone jack, then run CAT5 cable from the modem to your PC, since you can have up to 100 feet and not have any attenuation problems.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

DSL... It wouldnt matter at all.... As far as i know.... Just dont get to far...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

Modem is 20 feet away. Thanks again.
24giovanni is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Ohhh...DSL..

What you should do is have the modem close to the phone jack, then run CAT5 cable from the modem to your PC, since you can have up to 100 feet and not have any attenuation problems.
Not everyone does that. DSL is starting to use 1 big filter where your POTS come's in.

Much more effective than a filter on every phone
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.