Bad Sectors! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2005, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Unhappy Bad Sectors!

gosh. everytime i run my computer sometimes it ends up with giving errors.. or it boots up.. but even it does... there is so much of tick tick sound i get from my hdd while running installing copying anything... and then running bootable cd i scanned mah hardisk with surface.. it did find one bad sector and however it said it has been moved and it will not be used.. and i know once you get it is hard time to use your computer and thats what happening with me now... after even having surface scanned... it does same.. but hey it doesnt say anything while i format mah drive... and am so in trouble.. what i can do more? cant afford to buy new one though you people would say they are cheap now. SO ANSWERS?
__________________

miCkz is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

If there is damage too it maybe your HDD company will RMA it?
__________________

ToKeN is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

If you think it is your hard drive, just buy another one. Hard Drives are cheap. If you don't want to reinstall everything, purchase the software called ghost and then copy the entire old hard drive image to the new hard drive.
__________________
Gimpycow
gimpycow is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

grr.. Man i really cant afford.. and i guess if i am going to install and run this even for a bit long.. it gonna damage my all datas is it?? GRR which path i am on now..
miCkz is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

Did you do anything to the hard driv or is it deffective? Consider RMAing it.. call the company.
ToKeN is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

rmaing? what does it mean? and that's what the question.. how it has been covered with bad sectors.. when i did not really do anything.. just few days back.. i resetted my cmos.. nothing else.. it was all okay.. what could be the reasons? & is OUT of warranty. its of 20 Gb Seagate.
miCkz is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

If it still has warrenty you should be able to RMA it.

Basicly you send it back to the company and they will either replace it or fix it... thats how you get the warrenty...

You would have to call them up and ask about it, though.
ToKeN is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

i meant to say its NOT i have just edited mah post.. it was typo mistake... sorry.
miCkz is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

Oh Okay, Well then your stuck with it.

Either buy a new one or else your going to have to bare iwth it.

Also if more bad sectors keep appearing it can corrupt data.
ToKeN is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

alright.. thanks for your replies.. GOD Why this is happening with me now? .....
__________________

miCkz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.