Bad Sectors...... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2003, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default Bad Sectors......

Is there any way to remove the bad sectors or jsut to mask them so that the remaining space is usable by using any software?

My pal has a 2GB HDD and it has developed a lot of bad sectors and it is not behaving properly.Data can be copied from it but reading it gives errors.

I have used the Samsung Disk Utility for low level formatting...does this help?
__________________

__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-16-2003, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Ray-ACEWeb
Default

I agree. When you start seeing bad sectors I would strongly recommend replacing the disk instead of using it because the risk of loosing the data in the next several months are high. I know this from experience. I had a Maxtor hard drive with bad sectors few years ago. One day I turned it on, it will not boot. I would have lost the data if I did not have the tape backup.
__________________

Ray-ACEWeb is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

Well thanks

The disk is only used for transfering data....
there is no OS installed on it...anyway who would install on a 2 GB HDD...
I guess we have to us the CDRW afterall...
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to Myth Pharoah
Default

Ha damn! I'm that Pal he is talking about.

Isn't there any way? At all?
Myth Pharoah is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

thats pretty much true, the only chance is using Debug to write 0's to the drive. suprizingly enough I have had that work on 1 IBM deathstar that began having bad sectors.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Yeah... trash that 2gb before you cant get anything out of it...

As far as what Ecniv said, i had a IBM Deathstar 75gb HD at one time.. the mofos at IBM denied they had any problems with those hard drives. But i had like 6 bad sectors before i pulled it.
I told them i didnt want another one like the one i had, cause it was a POS. Ill never buy a IBM HD again.

So now im running a Western Digital 200gb Special Edition HD and its quick as hell, especially with the 8mb buffer they added on.

Go out and buy a new drive, they are cheap enough now. Plus i could fill 2gb in an hour
__________________

plasmaorb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.