Bad Drive Need To Repair - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2004, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default Bad Drive Need To Repair

I've got a friend who needs some help with something, so i figured i'd post his problem here.

He has a hard drive that is damaged. From what he's told me the file allocation tables are messed up. He has some data on the drive that he wants to retrieve. He'd like to somehow fix the drive if he could.

Runing win98's scan disk it told him the drive had severe file allocation table problems and couldnt fix them. When he took the drive off and put it on another pc, to try to fix again, the other pc (also win98) told him the drive had a lot of bad clusters.

What could i suggest him try to either fix the drive to make it workable again, or to retrieve whatever data he could still possibly get from it?

Any suggestions?
__________________

Ares is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Going once... going twice???
__________________

__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Question Well

It's all about how important this is.A recovery can cost $ 500 and more.
Maybe you can learn from this,2 hd's or burn this stuff as you go,will avoid this next time.
zigandazag is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Sometimes, you have to try drastic measures to fix the drive.

I heard if you put drive in a zip lock bag, and put it in a freezer for a few hours, then try to pull the data, the change of temperature helps the drive react.

I've never tried this before but, you never know!!
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Thumbs down Replying

Quote:
Originally posted by Ares
Going once... going twice???
3 strikes your out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg problem.jpg (17.0 KB, 56 views)
zigandazag is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Yeah, Holocron. I've heard of that too. I've read that's good when your hard drive won't boot up or when it's about to just totally die on ya. I'll see if my friend wants to try that, although the problem he's having isn't mechanical. His data clusters are awry.

He doesn't back things up like he should and he's got a really old pc that needs to be put out to pasture. We'll see what happens i guess. Can anyone suggest any non-windows disk scanners that might help repair the damage?
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 11:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

WHat i would suggest in this case ..to first try data recovery with some thing like Easy recovery Pro ...or somethin'...
This i would do only if the data's really important...

To make the drive reusable ..i think a Low-level format would be the best thing to do.
Low level the drive then zero fill it ...Later u can reuse it
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 07:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Try a recovery tool - like norton or something...
Next time, try that before letting scandisk muck up your drive. the results will be better....

Advise your friend to get some AntiVirus software . . . and to make backups of the data that he wants to keep around...
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 09:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

He has Antivirus software, he just doesn't make backups like he should.
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 04:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i don't think its cuased by a virus. it might be a hard disk physical failure. if he's going to get it fixed he needs to be careful and stop using it except to try to revover his data. and yes i think preet has the best solution. use data recovery software, there are several out there.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.