Automatic Boot Up?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Automatic Boot Up??

I was wondering if there was a way to have your computer turn on automaticly without you turning it on. Is there a way??
__________________

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

I dont know of a way at all. You would have to push the power button to turn it on and without some sort of invention that could push the power button on I don't think you can do it. You want some sort of timer plug but that still dosen't solve the power button problem.
__________________

__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Automatic Boot Up??

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevo808
I was wondering if there was a way to have your computer turn on automaticly without you turning it on. Is there a way??
You can put it to sleep and send it "Magic Packets" to use the Wakeup-On-Lan (WOL) function.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you could have it on an outdoor timer, so when the timer sees daylight, it turns on the power.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

is there any program or software that i could use?
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

not that i know of, just use a timer to have your power strip turn on at a certain time of day or night.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default

im pretty sure theres is a programmable function the the bios , because i know i had my pc turn on at 6am every day for a while....
Emc-Icon is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

With my computer i have an option in my bios to turn on with hitting any key on the keyboard or double clicking the mouse.
Its Me is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

ummm i thought there was an auto-power on in the bios as well.
joshd is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

could someone pleaz explain the auto-power on in the bios?
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.