Audio noise - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2004, 06:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default Audio noise

I just built a new system:

Asus A7N8X-X motherboard
DDR333 Kingston RAM

Everything appears to be working ok except for the sound. The speakers emit a high pitched noise when the system is powered on. The sound persists as long as no audio is being played. Once I start playing a DVD or an audio CD, the sound is crystal clear. If I pause or stop playing the media, the high pitched noise comes back. Anyone got an idea what's causing this and/or how I can fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Badut is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

Try moving the speaker cables away from the rest of your cables (eg. Monitor, Mouse, Keyboard, Power, etc)

I find that i get some static noise that seems to go with what is not my display, mouse movement or keyboard strokes.
However, as soon as I untangle the "cable farm" that is behind my PCs and make sure that there is some space between the speaker cables and everything else, i don't get the feed back.

I hope this works.


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 05:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2

Thanks for your suggestion but unfortunately it didn't do the trick.
I moved all the cables around. I even opened the case and isolated the internal audio cables. Nothing changes.
Is there something else that could be causing this?
Badut is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 02:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default noise?

Just in case.... Check your windows volume controls, record and play, and try muting or turning down the varous sources. Sometimes there's noise on something you don't use.
jessegil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.