Audio line-in stopped working suddenly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2004, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to phitzdisco
Default Audio line-in stopped working suddenly

I've been transferring old cassettes to my computer to burn them to CD for the past few weeks, and today when I went to hook my stereo into the line-in inputs on my computer I heard absolutely nothing. I tried a different device to see if it was the stereo or wires (a 4-track recorder) but still no sound through my speakers.

I've tried messing with volume levels, general troubleshooting to no avail. Anyone have any ideas of some setting somewhere I may have accidentally changed, or something I could do to try to remedy this problem? Thanks in advance. I have a newer model HP media desktop with a gig of ram if that makes any difference.

- Fred
__________________

phitzdisco is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Go into the advanced audio properties and verify that the line-in port is not muted or deactivated. Check in hardware manager that you aren't getting a flag on your sound card.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to phitzdisco
Default

No flags, volume is not muted, and I'm pretty sure that it's not deactivated. How do I make sure? Could it help to do a revert disc back a few days to see if something strange happened if I can't figure it out?
phitzdisco is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

"Revert disc"? If you mean, restore from backup, then the only thing you lose is what you've done since the backup. If you mean system-restore, then you won't lose anything (file-wise).

Try reinstalling the correct audio drivers for your device. Then check what software you've installed recently (or PNP hardware).
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Have you tried another audio port such as microphone? Or is it just the line-in port? (Trying to narrow down prob ;-)
JSchenk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.