audio jack question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default audio jack question

Hello

Is the standard audio jack on desktops "2 pin stereo" & one pin microphone?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Stereo is 1 pin, if you look on the pin there are 2 lines that go around the pin thats why if you pull it half way out you can hear out of one speaker and not the other. if you have 2 pins for your speakers the other set if for the Rear speakers and you can even have another pin for center, and so on if you have 5.1, 6.1,7.1, etc. mics have one pin.

i think thats what your askin.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

i suppose a 3-pin stereo audio jack would give a 5.1 surround system. are all the audio jacks 3.5 mm
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

No, a 3-pin stereo audio jack is usually stereo + microphone. How would 3-pins deliver 5.1 channels?
The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

i thought since 1 pin was good enough for stereo (2 channels), hence 3 pins would be good for 6 channels

what is the 3rd pin in a 3 pin stereo audio jack be for?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Ohh, yeah that works. 5.1 works, I was thinking 3 contacts on one pin.
The General is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

usually it would be for the mic
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 05:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

so if there are three pins in the backplane of a pc/laptop, the first pin is for stereo and the other two pins for mic?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 05:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

No, the first is for stereo output, the second is for stereo input, and the third is for mono mic input.
The General is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 04:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

what is stereo input, is that not the same as a mic input ?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.