ATX_12V connectors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 04:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default ATX_12V connectors

What exactly is the ATX_12V connector for? In my motherboard manual, it says that without it, my computer won't boot. However, I’ve been using my computer for well over a month without it plugged in. earlier today I plugged it in and didn't notice any changes in efficiency, performance, or cooling. What’s the deal here?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Is that the little four pin connector cable? It's a square. If it is, that is for the Pentium's.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

AMD's also use that.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

yeah, its the square 4 pin one. the manual says that my computer won't boot up without it...but it has for the past month. i don't get it.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's a straight +12v line for the CPU, to take strain off the +12v that all the other electronics in your system use.

I've accidentally left it out too with my CPU overclocked, but you need to put it in there to ensure stability
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

ok. i don't overclock, but stability sounds good
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You should use it even if you dont overclock just to give the CPU the extra power it needs.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Wow i cant belive it let you do that. My past one got jostled when i was cleaning it once and i couldnt figure out what the problem was and it was that it wasnt plugged all the way in. I cant belive it started must be a ood board.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

So many times I have taken apart my computer, and forgot about that plug, and hit power, and it dosent turn on, and the freaking out of "OH DAMN! I BROKE IT! WHAT THE HELL DID I DO?!" but then upon closer look, it's that that isnt plugged in or is a little unplugged. Needless to say, I only made that mistake a few times, I never make it again.

I've never seen any AMD boards with that. Is it new that AMD is using that?
Him is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Read the documentation on your processor. I think you'll find that your chip doesn't need the direct 12v connection (which is why yer comp has been running fine without it). Some chips do, and if you try to start them up without that line connected, they will either behave badly, brown-out, or not boot.

Do some research on the subject and you'll see why things behave the way they do, despite the Asian documentation.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.