ATX issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default ATX issue

So im fixing this computer for this guy, its got an ATX board, and a fresh install of windows. So i select shut down and power off, the computer turns off...and turns itself on after a few seconds...never seen or heard of this before so...anyone know wats up?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

u sure u didnt click restart? lol no ive never heard of it either weird
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Woah thats wierd. Probably just by accident someone hit restart or something. If not then i have no idea.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

nope, shut down and power off, for sure, does it EVERY single time, but o well, i dont have it anymore so...thx anyway lol. kinda messed up, fresh xp install too.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i would say its a hardware issue. something is making the psu think it is being switched on again. maybe a bad switch. does it definatly turn OFF properly before it turns on? what happens if you switch off by pressing and holding the power button rather than shutting down?
joshd is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it could be a piece of hardware connected giving the PWR-ON signal. perhaps a modem, that is common in my experience. make sure advanced power management is enabled in power options in control panel
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.