ATTENTION: Users at Tech-Forums - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 09:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Sygate Personal Firewall Pro.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

ok im using zonealarm 5 pro and it dosnt do that, plus (eeek) windows firewalla lol
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Let's keep this thread on the right track and not about using hacks or cracks!

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:39 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Here's a thought...Have you tried contacting Symantec about this yet? I mean, from yer screenie it looks like it was a Symantec product that reported this. Talk to them about it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:43 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Yes sir DMO
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 12:25 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,470
Default

looking into it
Larry is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 12:49 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

now it says that the source is from ThePlanet. ThePlanet does the same bandwidth managment and ftp services for HardOCP.com. you should log into hardocp.com and see if you get the same 'problem'. if you do, than there is somthing that norton doesn't like about theplanet and you should let it recieve packets from theplanet because there is nothing bad in them. i use a Norton/Zone Alarm combo for my virus protection and firewall and i have never had these sort of problems with ThePlanet. thats just wierd.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:26 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,470
Default

this is reply from tech support for our server:

------------------------------------------
(moldham-04/20/2005 23:29:22):
We are sending this to our security department so they can look into this issue for you.
------------------------------------------
(awood-04/21/2005 00:02:52):
Hm, I suspect it has to do with how the bulletin board system communicates with the client. I'd like to see the actual log information (src_host, dst_host, src_port, dst_port, timestamp). Anti-virus programs have a terrible problem with false positives.

I checked over your server and couldn't find any signs of compromise or malicious activity. It looks completely clean.
__________________

Larry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.