ATIs New 512mb video card with a little interview *pics* - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default ATIs New 512mb video card with a little interview *pics*

Stumbled across this a little bit ago, dunno if its old news to everyone here but oh well.

http://www.tomshardware.com/game/200...o_card-01.html

states that it was just a developer card and it offered the same speed as a 800 XT.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

i guess this just means its basically the same as the X850XT

with more ram, this would only realy help hungry programs like doom3.

im not really that impressed yet.
__________________

Chrono is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I saw tidbits of news on this already, but nothing from toms
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

The R520's card will also feature 512 MB of VRAM (DDR3) on a 256-bit interface.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Hahahaa, that was funny Frontside. Lets just wait and see.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I think the next generation cards (r520, nVidia equivelent etc.) will be geared to run games like Doom 3/HL2 at full settings. I'm talking about cranking AA/AF up without compensating lower settings or lower framerates.

I think the graphics cards just need a bit of time to catch up to these new game engines, if people are blown away by the Source/Doom 3 engines now, I think they'll have their socks rocked when these bad boys hit the market.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

i say both front side lol! i laughed so hard when i saw that lol. What eer happened to the unreal3 engine? is it gonna be ubber good or what?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I want to see a soldier of fortune 3, using the crytech engine, HL2 source, and a new and improved Ghoul engine that soldier of fortune 2 uses to make the realistic gore. I haven't seen a game with as good of gore as sof2, but back in that time they didn't have ragdoll, that's where crytech engine and HL2 source come in
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Nubius, sounds like you want alot
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol, nah, it'd be an awesome game assuming they put a good story line to it. HL2 and Far cry have nice rag doll effects, but when I shoot someone in the head I expect a chunk to explode from the back like in Sof2

In sof2 they have the body broken down into 36 parts I believe. 16 are in the head alone lol. Depending on what gun and where you shoot them, parts will fly
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.