ATI X800XT drivers..problems? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2004, 03:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

actually, its probbaly not his card.. its the fact that he might have his HT on in bios, which messes up the comp when under heavy load.

keep your comments to yourself unless you know what your talking about.

a nvidia card burnt out on me after 4 months of use without any overclocking and a good fan/heatsink.. explain that, genius.
__________________

__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

What brand of video card did you have before the X800? if NVIDIA, you may still have some files present which conflict with ATI. Get something like DETONATOR DESTROYER to completely remove them. Did you download the latest drivers from ATI?
What about your control panel config. Did you check that out?
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 07:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxdryicexx
actually, its probbaly not his card.. its the fact that he might have his HT on in bios, which messes up the comp when under heavy load.

keep your comments to yourself unless you know what your talking about.

a nvidia card burnt out on me after 4 months of use without any overclocking and a good fan/heatsink.. explain that, genius.
'
Dont go ripping on Nvidia because YOUR card broke. You are right though it is a pc problem and not the cards problem. Besides the x800 is a awesome card so it isnt going to be a problem with the card.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 09:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Well i dont have the card yet .So all i can offer is some things to check.I would run memtest overnight.To eliminate and possible causes there.Are you running your memory on Turbo? Just curious ,I have the same exact setup (RAMBUS ROCKS ) .I would leave a slot open under the AGP card,i prefer 2 ,to help the heat escape.ATI`s run hot.Try disabling FastWrites in the ATI Control Panel.In your bios are you runing UC or USWC Cacheable or Uncacheable video?Id recomend USWC but test it anyway.
I run my ATI 9800 Pro at 1.5volts in bios setting.Check the recomendations for the card.ASUS default setting is 1.6 .
What kind of Bench Scores are you getting?
I like using 3Dmark 01se .My ATI card would freeze on the nature seen do to heat .Open slots under the AGP and leaving the rear tabs out remedied that .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 10:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

"Dont go ripping on Nvidia because YOUR card broke. You are right though it is a pc problem and not the cards problem. Besides the x800 is a awesome card so it isnt going to be a problem with the card"

.... No one is ripping on anyhting.. I was simply trying to make a point that no one, either it be a person or a company, are perfect.. by saying my nividia card burnt out IS in fact nvidia's fault because it was a poorly manufactured chip, but thats not the point.. point is im sure people had the same problem with ati chips, therefor goign around saying "I've never heard these problems from nvidia users" is naive to say.

Have a great day.
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxdryicexx
"Dont go ripping on Nvidia because YOUR card broke. You are right though it is a pc problem and not the cards problem. Besides the x800 is a awesome card so it isnt going to be a problem with the card"

.... No one is ripping on anyhting.. I was simply trying to make a point that no one, either it be a person or a company, are perfect.. by saying my nividia card burnt out IS in fact nvidia's fault because it was a poorly manufactured chip, but thats not the point.. point is im sure people had the same problem with ati chips, therefor goign around saying "I've never heard these problems from nvidia users" is naive to say.

Have a great day.
No, your wrong. It was your manufatuer's fault. nVidia only supply the chips, while they heavily rely on OEMs to produce the boards. OEMs never get a good reputation, so they try to hide it by bundling stuff to cover up whatever could lead to future problems with the whole card itself. Bad board design with possibility of being short circuited could mean a huge difference in performance and could be the fuel to your hardware problems.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

Back when the ti's just came out (I had a ti4400) nividia manfactured alot of their chips, therefor its nvidias fault
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

the Ti's were great cards, the best at the time. It also is more the fault of the company that is making the cards (not the chips). Say Visiontek, eVGA, PNY etc...but it think we got off on the wrong topic here.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -=B$=-
hahaha i never hear this kinda stuff about NVIDIA cardz lol

Haha, what about that vacuum cleaner of a card, the FX5800, that thing totally sucked, ran hot, and was loud as hell, and besides, the X800 is one HELL of a card, just like cocaine is one hell of a drug.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 02:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
What brand of video card did you have before the X800?
it was a 9800 pro, but i did a total new install of xp pro when i installed the card

Quote:
Did you download the latest drivers from ATI?
installed the drivers that came with the card (cataylst 4.5) and then upgraded to the 4.6 drivers

Quote:
What about your control panel config
huh? how, and what am i looking for?

Quote:
I would leave a slot open under the AGP card,i prefer 2 ,to help the heat escape.
i have 3 pci slots open under the card. its in the agp slot and the only thing i have is the audigy card, and its in the very bottom pci slot.

Quote:
I would run memtest overnight.
how and where would i get that?


i will try the following ideas now, and see if that works

Quote:
Try disabling FastWrites in the ATI Control Panel.
Quote:
its the fact that he might have his HT on in bios, which messes up the comp when under heavy load.
Quote:
In your bios are you runing UC or USWC Cacheable or Uncacheable video?Id recomend USWC
thanks for all the help guys. maybe i can get this thing running correct. i will leave a update after i try these things
__________________

{FBI}The_WONDER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.