ATI X800 XT AGP power cord?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2006, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default ATI X800 XT AGP power cord??

im trying to put this x800xt in my other computer so it can play some decent games.
but i think i need a 'special' power cable for it..please respond quick cuz im getting tired and i dont wanna keep packingit up and unpacking it over and over again
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

You need to connect a 4 pin molex connector to the card.
__________________

curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

there is no molex..theres like a floppy type connector on the very end top of the card
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

also..i tried without any other cords attatched and it flashes in red text with beeping 'video card power cable not connected, please connect'
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

If it has a floppy style power connector, plug that in.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

i tried, it wont fit
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

If the card has a connecter like the one in the upper right hand corner of this card:



Then you use a FLOPPY POWER CABLE... if you are saying that it will not fit, you are trying to install the cable upside down... rotate 180* and try again.

For MORE reference, see the documents that came WITH the card... That SHOULD be the FIRST place to check.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 11:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

well if u didnt know i got the card FROM A FRIEND as 'OEM' and when i say OEM i mean THE CARD
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 07:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Wait what does OEM have to do with you not being able to fit a floppy power connector into the card?



Looks like that

And you want the bottom to be on the bottom of the card
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 01:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IntelUser101
well if u didnt know i got the card FROM A FRIEND as 'OEM' and when i say OEM i mean THE CARD
we cannot know what you don't tell us...

Have you asked your friend how he/she had it hooked up in their PC? It should be Fairly straight-forward, and take less than 2 minutes to put it in the PC and connect the extra power cable...
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.