Ati X800 <|=|> "ge Force 6" - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 11:30 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by archon45
It's all about preference now. I asked a few days ago and everyone told me x900xt is the way to go, now everyone jumped ship to say 6800 Ultra >
A week ago when pics of Farcry using PS3.0 vs PS2.0, and believe me, there is a pretty noticeable difference, that showed the 6800 has better image quality and caught alot of attention.

ATI's R500 is going to have PS3.0, but since ATI has plans for the X300, X600 and X800 PCI-E, don't expect it to be out till next year. And i doubt you can wait that long, so you have a few choices to make; either the X800 or 6800.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 12:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

gforce fx 6800= faster.
ati x800= exellent graphics quality
__________________

__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 01:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Browz, you tard, it's the other way around.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 02:01 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
From experience, i think my 9800 pro wrecks my 5900xt.

But you can overclock that 5900XT like mad, with proper cooling, you can get the core into the 500's (not water cooling either).
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 02:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

who runs a game a High End Game at 800x600 anyway hehe .
I havent used that setting in 2 years .The 6800 is the card to get
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 02:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Bottom line...ATI=better benchmarks. Nvidia=better quality graphics card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 03:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cappy
who runs a game a High End Game at 800x600 anyway hehe .
I havent used that setting in 2 years .The 6800 is the card to get
I do!... mainly because i got a 15" CRT.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 05:57 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
I do!... mainly because i got a 15" CRT.
if u have a 15 in u should be running a 1024x768 lol especially w/ a 9800...
__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 06:17 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

my comp-usa sucks, theres no pre-order for any cards, and the 9800xt is still $499.99 (biggest rip ever)
__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 08:32 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Although the ATI x800xt card has higher frames per second than the 6800Ultra, I can't see spending $500 on a card that doesn't support a new standard. However, the NVidia card draws an incredible amount of power (I think it's something like 100 watts, max) and needs 2 slots, whereas the ATI does not need so much power or the second slot.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.