ATI X700 Pro Questions. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 05:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

ATI has one benefit, good relationships with major vendors like dell, gateway, sony, etc.

Everybody else who cares buys a 6600GT or 6800.

That said, I would buy an X700 for convenience, they are cheaper at best buy & it's nice to drive up & buy something for 200 instead of 250 that is similiar.

6600GT's are 250 at best buy right now.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can get an eVGA 6600 GT from newegg for $179
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 09:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
ATI has one benefit, good relationships with major vendors like dell, gateway, sony, etc.

Everybody else who cares buys a 6600GT or 6800.

That said, I would buy an X700 for convenience, they are cheaper at best buy & it's nice to drive up & buy something for 200 instead of 250 that is similiar.

6600GT's are 250 at best buy right now.
Lets not turn this into an ATI vs. Nvidia. Using that "everybody who cares" line is just asking for a flame war. Both ATI and Nvidia make good cards, Nvidia just happened to win this round.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to DelTASteveB
Default

Alright, it was a driver problem. I am now getting 100-150 FPS on CS:S. UNBELIVABLE!!! It looks sooo beautiful. After seeing my friends Nvidia vs my ATI, I would buy an ATI, it saved me 70$.
DelTASteveB is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What are your settings when getting those FPS on CS:S?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 90
Default

"What are your benchmark scores? How does it perform in other games?"

I don't know, it seems locked at 60fps.

But on the HL2 Demo, I get about 50-60fps with everything on high, AA AT on the highest setting. 1012x738 (I forgot the resolution numbers, but close enough.
__________________
Nothing yet...
Something is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Something
"What are your benchmark scores? How does it perform in other games?"

I don't know, it seems locked at 60fps.

But on the HL2 Demo, I get about 50-60fps with everything on high, AA AT on the highest setting. 1012x738 (I forgot the resolution numbers, but close enough.
When you turn V-Sync on, it locks it at 60 fps. Turn off V-sync and you will get much higher framerate. How do you like your X800 Pro. Any regrets?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Yea, its great. Just had to tweak it alittle. Got it off ebay for about $350.

Seriously, try the Omega drivers, they boosted my AQ3 mark by about 9,000.
__________________
Nothing yet...
Something is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to DelTASteveB
Default

Its on the Highest Resolution (LCD Setting also, nice to have a screen like that), and all of the Graphics settings are on high.

What are "Benchmark Scores".

You will have to forgive me, I just recently got into computers, so I know a little. Being 15 and just getting a job opens o' so many doors.
DelTASteveB is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Benchmark scores are scores you get from running benchmark apps such as 3DMark05 and Aquamark 3.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.