ATI video card trouble, big trouble. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2004, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default ATI video card trouble, big trouble.

I had a ATI Rage 128 Pro in my new computer (the one I built) and it worked good, but everytime i'd log in i'd get the windows, "This program needs to be shut down" error, so i'd click ok. I could still change my display settings, etc etc so I didnt really care about the error.

One night I decided to fix the error though, I downloaded the drivers for the card from ATI's site and installed them and the software, I was playing with the software when I *accidently* changed a setting andmy screen went black. My monitor (15inch NEC lcd monitor) kept flashing something how it couldnt display that rate or whatever.

So I took that card out, and tried a diffrent card, it would show my computer booting up but when it would switch to my log in screen it would freeze the picture on the screen. (I could still log in, then shut my computer off from the start menu without seeing anything though) so I took that out and just used my motherboard's montior input for now. It really sucks.

How can I go back to using a video card? I tried uninstalling the software/drivers but it wont let me!

What card should I use btw, the rage128 pro (32mb card) or the ATI Radeon 64mb card? I know its a stupid question, but performance wise which one is better?
__________________

blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

You changed the refresh rate to something the card couldn't handle? Is that what your saying?.. Or do you not know what went wrong?
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I changed the refresh rate to something my monitor couldnt display, but I dont know how to re-do that. I tried opening the software for the card, but I cant unless the card is in my computer. If it is in my computer, I cant see anything....
blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

reboot your computer in safe mode and undo your change from there.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 393
Send a message via Yahoo to ravenmadtaoist
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zerozero
reboot your computer in safe mode and undo your change from there.
I have an ATI 128 rage pro/tv out. This happened to me also when it was set to too high a screen resolution for my Samtron ( by my 8 year old ) I redownloaded the drivers once I was in safe mode and re-installed.
__________________
Life is a terminal sexually transmitted condition. There is no known cure & we are unable to determine how long you will have to live.
LDMS

What am I??? Flypaper for freaks????!!

My mood today is...<a href="http://www.imood.com/users/Ravens_Tears"><img src="http://moods.imood.com/display/uname-Ravens_Tears/fg-330066/trans-1/imood.gif" alt="The current mood of Ravens_Tears at www.imood.com" border="0"></a>

:o 68.63905% - Geek God(dess):o
[The Geek Test]
ravenmadtaoist is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I tried that!

I restarted in safe mode and reinstalled the drivers, but I got an error saying that it couldnt install them because I have no hardware for them or something along those lines.

So... what can I do? I cant install the ATI drivers unless a put in the ATI card that doesnt even work because I accidently changed some settings, so am I screwed or what?
blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 03:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Again, reboot in safe mode.... Go into had remove programs and delete your ATI drivers from there. Then, reboot your computer and after the auto detect, reinstall your drivers
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 07:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

1st off put the Rage pro back in .Uninstall The Software in Safe mode. Each time you reboot , boot into safe mode. I had the same problem where it wouldnt let me reinstall the card so in device manager i had to remove the device then reboot .When windows tries to reinstall the card dont allow it to.Once your fully booted make sure all the old drivers are gone.
I would use Driver Cleaner 2 to remove any remaining Video Card drivers reboot when promted .When your sure there gone then install the new drivers .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 11:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

The thing is, it WONT let me uninstall the drivers for the card, and I CANT put the video card in considering one of them I changed settings for (that I cant redo) and the other one freezes my display at boot up.
blankcanvas is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 07:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 28
Default

bump
__________________

blankcanvas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.