Ati Silencer VGA Cooler - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Question Ati Silencer VGA Cooler

Hey everyone,
I have a Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB), made by Ati, and I wanted to overclock a little bit, and everyone seems to be recommending the Ati Silencer 1 by Arctic Cooling. But there are 2 version of that cooler, the old one with the blue fan (rev. 3), and the new series with the black fan. Which one is better, and why? Should I spend the extra money for the new series? Or will the old one work just as well? Please post any comparisons, reviews or any other useful information.

Thanks, and any help is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Current System Specifications:
Motherboard-->MSI-VIA KT4v
CPU -->AMD Athlon XP 2100
RAM -->512MB of PC2700
Hard Drive -->WD 40 G-2MB Cache, and WD 80 G-8MB Cache
Video Card -->ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Case -->Antec Performence 2 (full-tower)
Power Supply-->Antec SmartPower 400Watt
Red Beret is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

more money=better

few dollars=better performance

less money=not as good

not spending that few dollars=regret

pretty much it (how bout the zalman 700cu, maybe that's better than the silencer?)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im sure the new one has a better fan, with more CFM. This can always save you a few degrees. For VGA coolers, you pretty much want the best you can get your hands on. They arent expensive, and some just dont work well.

I havent experienced any of those yet. I'll be getting the next best one this summer. But again for VGA coolers, just get the best.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Default

Well, thanks for that information, it was basiclly all I needed to know. Thanks again for your help.
__________________
Current System Specifications:
Motherboard-->MSI-VIA KT4v
CPU -->AMD Athlon XP 2100
RAM -->512MB of PC2700
Hard Drive -->WD 40 G-2MB Cache, and WD 80 G-8MB Cache
Video Card -->ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Case -->Antec Performence 2 (full-tower)
Power Supply-->Antec SmartPower 400Watt
Red Beret is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.