ati radeon X800 XT == ati radeon x800 XT Platinum Edition? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default ati radeon X800 XT == ati radeon x800 XT Platinum Edition?

Are these one in the same, if not what are the differences. When I go shopping websites only say XT, one says XT and the picture shows platinum while another says XT and the picture does not.
__________________

theor is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

*edit* I believe that the X800 XT and X800 XT P.E. very simlar to each other, one slightly better than the other. Are you in the market for an X800? If you are going to get something in that price range, why don't you get something like the Nvidia GeForce 6800 Ultra OC edition. It is currently the fastest gaming card around, and smashes the X800 P.E. in the benchmarks and is around the same price range.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Stop.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default

I'll be looking into that Geforce 6800 Ultra OC version.

So it's already OCed?
theor is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agex000
Stop.
Ditto

Owhh and good luck finding the 6800 Ultra Extreme

You would be perfectly fine getting either a 6800 Ultra or X800 XT I have seen sites though that benchmark the X800 XT and X800 XT PE seperatly though, and the X800 XT is alittle slower(about 5 FPS or so, not much)

Don't just take ONE person's bad experience to sway your own, especially when there are hundreds of Magazines and websites that say differently The moral of the story is, that whatever you decide, 6800 Ultra or X800 XT(PE whatever :P ), you'll have an unbelievably fast and awesome card
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

The X800xt PE is clocked higher than the regular X800xt. (520 vs 500)
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default

The Geforce 6800 Ultra needs 2 slots and what else?
theor is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

And atleast a 480w power supply.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default

oh the website says the following:


This Graphics Card Requires:

1. A minimum 480W system power supply
2. An AGP 2.0 (or higher) compliant motherboard. Some motherboards violate the AGP specification and therefore this card may not physically fit in some systems.
3. A vacant PCI slot adjacent to the AGP slot. This board occupies two slots: one AGP and one PCI.
4. Two available hard disk drive power dongles (smaller floppy disk drive connector is not sufficient).


What exactly are these power dongles I need?

The website also says the box comes with the following:

>> BFG GeForce™ 6800 Ultra OC™ graphics card
>> Quick install manual
>> 2 DVI-I to VGA connectors
>> 2 “Y” power cables

I assume the 2 "Y" power cables are the power dongles mentioned above?
theor is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

You can run the 6800 Ultra on a smaller PSU, down to 400 watts as long as it is a name brand stable unit, won't work on cheap crappy PSU
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.