ATI Radeon 9600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2003, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default ATI Radeon 9600

I am considering buying this card, but I dont know if my mobo is compatible to use AGP 4x8x.

My system info says:
x86 Family Model 6 Stepping 2 AuthenticAMD ~1662mhz

this is an HP Pavilion541c.

I would be forever grateful for some help in deciding if it will indeed work on my machine.

Thanks
Jay
__________________

RoooR is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

I've been reading the system specs at HP's homepage for your HP Pavilion 541c, and it does indeed have an agp port. It doesn't say wether this is 2x, 4x or 8x, but since this is a pretty modern system, my guess is that it has an either 4x or 8x agp-port..

Do you have a manual for your mother-board? If so, try to find some info there.
__________________

__________________
System specs:
Mobo: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
CPU: PIV 2.80 HT
RAM: Kingston 2*256 3200
HD 1: IBM 80GB 7200
HD 2: IBM 40GB 7200
CD: NEC (anno 1996)
GC: Radeon 9600 Pro
fiezk is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Awesome. I appreciate the help. I have something esle to be thankful for. Best Buy has the ATI Radeon 9600 128mb card for 69.99
RoooR is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Yea.. i have the 9600 pro in my computer and it works like a champ! it has been a pretty good card so far knock on wood
__________________
~bhoney
bhoney is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

You most likely have an AGP 4x port, seeing as you are using an Athlon XP 2000+ processor with a modern motherboard.

The card will work fine, as long as it can use the 1.5V voltage.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 03:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I purchased my ATI radeon 9600 PRO at the end of the summer to replace my old NVIDIA MX 2 and man it rocks. Since my old card only supported directX 7 I didn't even have those nice water reflection effects you have in so many games like Pirates of the Carribean etc... They're gorgeous.
I downloaded the dx 9 demos from ATI and I can't wait to see them in games. The pixel shading used in Max Payne 2 was awesome.
I tweaked it slightly with Radclocker (core 411 memory 330) and it's stable as a rock (it's not even the 10% the manufacturer keeps for safety margin) and I got a 10% increase on 3d mark 2003.
All I can say is go for it.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.