ATi/nVidia-I wil settle this once and for all! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 12:24 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bg211@yahoo.com
Default

you know you all talk about the video cards. what type of screen are you using? if you want the best try this on for size its a totaly new technology that just hit the market and the screens are far better than anything i have eer seen the Nit ratings on these things are awsome and the MOD capabilities are infinate.
http://www.visionarydisplays.com
__________________

bg211@yahoo.com is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:53 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah, when graphics cards start getting beyond the price of entire budget systems it gets a little ridiculous.

Now-a-days you gotta be border-line rich or spoiled to be able to afford a good system that'll play Doom3 or HL2 at settings inwhich you can actually appreciate the graphics
Believe me, I'm far from being rich or spoiled. Its less of a "rich" thing and more of a "how do I want to spend my money" thing.

Many people don't have good systems because they would rather spend money on other things, such as cars or clothes. Me, I don't drive the nicest car and I don't buy preppy Abercrombie clothes, and instead I put my money into my computer.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:38 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:03 PM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

poor old gefroce4... i bought a new one only this christmas and im happy! 128mb ddr ram, plays anything i want... and btw that includes halflife2...
dakta is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:12 PM   #35 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

a friend gave me a geforce 2 mx 400. it has a broken capacitor, and the capacitor (its not lost) do you think it has any hope to solder the capacitor back on?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:16 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

I think that they both are very good companies, and both have flaws in the lines that they have.

As far as I am concerned, ATI cards are a better deal if you don't plan to upgrade, but nVidia are better if you want good performance all around that doesn't last as long.
I AM NOT BASHING, OR SAYING ONE IS BETTER THAN THE OTHER, JUST SAYING WHAT I THINK ABOUT THE TWO COMPANIES...

Yan Booth
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:06 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Many people don't have good systems because they would rather spend money on other things, such as cars or clothes.
Not really. My computer is all I spend my money on, thanks to my loser friend a year ago on my birthday I no longer have a car. And most would argue that I have an 'outdated' system since I'm still on Socket A, comes down to the simple fact on what you already have and IF you have money to spend on your computer and a decent enough job to get you that money.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:37 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Don't agree with that chart and this thread was never gonna solve anything

How come I have never seen a 6800 Ultra EE? Anybody have a link?
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:39 PM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Zipzoomfly did have the 6800Ulta EE on their site at one point, was like $899, ridiculous.

But now I'm checking there again and can't find it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 09:18 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to IcedSteve-o
Default

im using a ati radeon 9000 and i play counterstike source. i got 50 fps on the stress test with 800 x 600, but i have seen 230+ fps at times.
Im surprised that thing can do that well
__________________

__________________
P4 3.0ghz HT OCed to 3.75 ghz
1024mb pc3200 DDR
Asus P4P800 SE, Ai
Ati radeon 9000 pro
XazerIII Thermaltake case w/ window
Thermaltake volcano cpu fan
Thermaltake purepower 420watt
IcedSteve-o is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.