ATI or NVidia? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 10:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default ATI or NVidia?

I dont really know the difference between the 2. Ive done research on the ATI Radeon before, mainly the 9800, but like i said i dont know much about them. I THINK i notice more Nvidia in gaming machines and Radeons in graphic pcs, but that could be just me. Anyone able to recommend which to use for different uses?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

depends on how much you can spend
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

for the price of the 9800 you can get a 6600. Either or, it's more about your preference at that point. I like nvidia chipsets, they tend to preform better for gaming. I've never really used a radeon under gaming conditions. But they work great for video editing.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea man you might be right because it is like the same for amd and intel
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Well price wise, i dont really care about how much i spend, as long as i got something thatll last me and do what i wanna do with it. I mainly want a video card that i can just push to the limits and crank the settings, for mainly gaming. I love to see nice partical effects in games as well as smooth edges.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if you want the best of the best, get 2x 6800 ultras in SLI or for a single card (not as good as 6800 ultras in sli) the ati x850 xt pe

if you just want a good card, go for the evga 6800gt
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Gigabyte released a 6600 card that was sold with 500mhz core clock/1.1ghz memory clock stock. Faster than my core =(


/emote kicks his crappy 6800s


Edit:

I have the 6800 gt.. Not worth it.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

What would i need to set up the multiple video cards? ive heard a bit about it, but nothing to indepth? and is it really necessary?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Depends on how hardcore you are. you only need 2 video cards that are sli (scalable link interface) capable and a sli capable motherboard. Checkout the parts in my sig.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

SLI is not worth the money unless you really have the money for it
for high end gaming, I would suggest a 6800 GT or Ultra
for not too expensive, but good performance, get a 6600 GT
for playing some not so big games, I would suggest the 9600 XT
for low end gaming, I would suggest the FX-5200
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.