Ati hang-ups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2003, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default Ati hang-ups

putting together my own system I have encountered a situation.
I have a 2.4 ghz processor, abit sr7-8x ( sis 648) mobo, soundblaster sound card, 350 w case, ATI radeon 9700 and windows xp pro .
Built this system with sole intent of video editing. I have several video editing programs that came with the dvd drive and writer but they all seem to hang up at some point and crash the system. I have sent the error messages and they all come back graphics device error.
I have installed the latest catalyst driver 3/17/03 for the problem but to no avail. any suggestions would be very helpfull.
Thanks in advance, Tama 2
__________________

Tama 2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Hmmm.,,, I dont know if i will be of much help here, but i have the radeon 7500 and my pc is for video editing too,,

like you ,, i am experiencing crashes when changing video formats, and editing footage,,

hmm ATI with XP issue???

I am using pinnacle studio 8 with all updates for editing,,

tried Ulead,,no better, Tried the XP ,, no better,,

Maybe we need to go to GeForce cards,,,?? More $$$$
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Downloaded the latest SiS AGP driver?
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 33
Default

Another one of ATI drivers issues i see... if you want a decent video editing card, you can get an Asus TV Video Card for like $61 at newegg.com, and it pulls resolution higher than what ATI claims.

Dont know what to tell you other than, i think when you buy things that have it all in one.. it seems like those are the ones that cause the most proplems.
plasmaorb is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

I moved away from the Geforce 256 with 32mb ram onboard to the ATI with 64 mb DDR,, thought that my performance would go up,,

I have moved away from the ATI,, had the latest drivers, patches, etc,, when playing Medal of Honour,, looked like I was playing with CardBoard CutOuts,,

So,, I moved back to Geforce,, picked up the Geforce4 MX 440,, with 64 mb ddr,, wanted the 128,, but my supplier was out of stock,, and me with money in my pockets,, well i get holes,, couldnt wait,,

Then ,, I decided to just build an entire new machine,, Hahaha,, gotta love Credit,, Cha-CHing!

I am happier than a Pig in Poop Now!

Cheers,,,

PS,, anyone wanna buy an ATI??
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 04-23-2003, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Had a similar problem with video editing software locking up and crashing or just crashing. So playing around with it for a day or 2 found out the the video format like the frame rates and what not.
Seems to me it depends on what the software can do and what type of media you are shoving down its throat.
Drawoh is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 10:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Hmmm.. I have a 9700pro and I do video editing as well.. I have not experienced hang ups.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Max Paws
Default

I just rebuilt my system with several new components and had a few issues with my Radeon 9500 seemingly crashing the system. I finally traced the issue to some sort of incompatibility between the Radeon and Soundblaster. Once I upgraded all the drivers and support files for the Soundblaster (Audigy) all the problems went away. This wouldn't be the first time the video and sound drivers couldn't work together in harmony!
Max Paws is offline  
Old 04-28-2003, 12:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks to everybody for your suggestions. Seems as though when I downloaded the updated bios for the motherboard I was not succesfull. I have since done this again and was more thorough and everything seems to run great. Once again thanks to all .
Tama 2 is offline  
Old 04-28-2003, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Max Paws
Default

Thanks for updating us... I'm sure everybody love to hear a "success story"!
__________________

Max Paws is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.