ati aiw 9600 pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2004, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default ati aiw 9600 pro

i have an ati all in wonder 9600 pro and was wondering if there was anything i could do to make it run better. i believe that i downloaded the latest driver from the website and i changed the setting in my bios to have the agp slot run at 73 mhz instead of 66 which improved it a little bit. is there anything else i can do.
__________________

jblaze725 is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

You can overclock it.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i know how to overclock the processor but how do you overclock the graphics card. is that what i did when i set the agp to 73 instead of 66.
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default Re: ati aiw 9600 pro

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
i have an ati all in wonder 9600 pro and was wondering if there was anything i could do to make it run better. .
Huh?????

Run better?

I have a Radeon 9600 XT and it runs EVERY game that i have CRYSTAL CLEAR.

And I'm talking about the top quality games today, and those include FarCry (runs perfect), BF Vietnam (runs perfect), C&C Generals (WOW), Deus Ex (not perfect, but acceptable).

So I don't know why you would want it to run better!!??

If you want some VERY GOOD gameplay but terrible graphics, simply go into your ATI Control Panel and on the "3d MODE" tab, drag the bar all the way down to the lowest it will go, or the second to lowest.....

This makes the graphics quality quite low, but helps games run MUCH better.

Good luck though.
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

You can download Powerstrip to OC it

And Chubz, I don't think he has an XT, he has the slower 9600
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

I DO HAVE THE SLOWER 9600 AND I ALSO DOWNLOADED POWERSTRIP AND OVERCLOCKED MY CARD A LITTLE BIT. I HAVENT HAD ANY PROBLEMS PLAYING ANY GAMES AS OF YET AS FAR AS I CAN TELL I JUST WANNA MAKE SURE IT RUNS ALL GAMES AS BEST AS POSSIBLE.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to DeathToCats
Default

If you're that picky, get a new video card. You could prolly sell that one on e-bay for 100 bucks and then you just have to find another 300 bucks for the 9800XT.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
MSI K8T NEO-FSR
Western Digital SATA 80GB/8MB Cache
2 - DDRAM PC-3500 512M KINGMAX
MSI DVD+/-RW 4X
PowerColor ATI 9600XT Ultra
DeathToCats is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
I DO HAVE THE SLOWER 9600 AND I ALSO DOWNLOADED POWERSTRIP AND OVERCLOCKED MY CARD A LITTLE BIT. I HAVENT HAD ANY PROBLEMS PLAYING ANY GAMES AS OF YET AS FAR AS I CAN TELL I JUST WANNA MAKE SURE IT RUNS ALL GAMES AS BEST AS POSSIBLE.
Well you don't have to yell about it

The only way your gonna maximixze your gaming performance is by buying a 9800XT Your card either runs games well or its doesn't, if your having to run graphics all on medium and still only get 20fps, then yeah, obviously your gonna need a video card pretty damn soon If you wanna upgrade get the 9800 Pro, its still plenty and should run future games like DOOM3 and HL2 rather well
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 05:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

not yelling just too lazy to worry about capitalizing and punctuation. like i said i havent had problems yet everythings been running well so far with no lag or anything and i havent had to sacrifice any quality yet and i also used powerstrip to oc my card slightly i just trying to prepare for the future in case i run into problems.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 05:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
not yelling just too lazy to worry about capitalizing and punctuation. like i said i havent had problems yet everythings been running well so far with no lag or anything and i havent had to sacrifice any quality yet and i also used powerstrip to oc my card slightly i just trying to prepare for the future in case i run into problems.
When then you should be set with that card for another year or so before you'll need to upgrade
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.