ATI 9800pro VERY low fps - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 03:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

Yeah ur CPU is pretty ****ty. U should think about buying a Athlon 64 3000+ as a good CPU. XP arent that good. Their bus speeds compared to the 64 is around...3 times less. That could make a differrence. Also, ram is somewhat cheap, and it usually makes quite the difference.
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Well I don't have a lot of options in BIOS, my max AGP setting is 4x, no option for fastwrites and my agp aperture size is at 128mb. I'm guessing my problem most likely resides within the fact that my motherboard was just an average board 2-3 years ago and an inadequate power supply. But maybe there's something more to it?
__________________

Tecknoholic is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Oh and my FSB (FrontSideBus) is a whopping 133mhz...that can't help.
Tecknoholic is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tecknoholic
Oh and my FSB (FrontSideBus) is a whopping 133mhz...that can't help.

..WOW....


...Thats bad.......like....REALLY bad...witha 64 3000+ u can get like 2000mhz.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Yeah I'm thinking of buying a new mobo, saw some great deals on ebay. But would something like the FSB affect Frame Rates that much? I guess it would make sense because I certaintly don't believe that this graphics card would suck that bad :<
2000mhz O_________________O
Tecknoholic is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

Yeah it can. GREATLY. CPU right now should be ur main priority as of now. Regardless of what else u get, if ur still gonna stick with that piecacrap (no offense ) then it wont make a difference. Why? Well because the 9800 pro 128mb card is right now a good card. it shoudl be able to run game very effeciently.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 04:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Alright that makes sense. I guess I thought sprinkling sugar on monkey $h!t made it chocolate, but only a new cpu/mobo can do that apparently. Well guys thanks for all your help!
Tecknoholic is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 04:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

plz make sure u know EXACTLY what socket yer mobo is before u buy one..or you'll be crying yourself to sleep.

is it Socket A

478

754

or
939?

and while your at it...a new PSU wouldn't hurt...but don't cheap out on that part....either..get a good reliable one.
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.