Ati 9600 Xt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default Ati 9600 Xt

Under 3D options in advanced tab, should it be Direct 3D or OpenGL?
Also, should I change the refresh hertz to 85hz? Mines at 60hertz right now.
And is there any adjustment that I can make to make the videocard perform at it's best?

Thnx alot!
__________________

meepins is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

application preferred, as not every game is on DX and not every one on OpenGL, but different, so better is to go with appplication preference.

D3D is Microsoft's technology, OpenGL is silicons tech's technology.

and gamers chooose either of these.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Well, would there be any issues that will mess up the computer if I change Direct3D to OpenGL and 60hrtz or 85hrtz?


Heres the spec:

AMD 3000+
512mb DDR RAM
ATI 9600 XT 256mb
160GB
meepins is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

this HZ thing is monitor dependent, are you on TFT?

if u r, then changing it to even 120Hz wont bring difference, as TFT's run on 60Hz. but if u r on CRT, then go for highest Hz setting it is showing, as it will hide those which ur moniti cannot display. and higher the refresh rate setting in CRT, it will prevent flickering (higher means what ur monitor can handle at most)

else, changing to D3D or openGL wont do any bad to your pc, it will run fine. as you'll have problem in games, as if u r forcing OpenGL an the game is on D3D. so better is application preference.

as OpenGL is mainly used for 3D designing, therefore you'll see workstation cards like rage, quatro have more OpenGL capability than these radeon etc.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 11:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Hmm, my fps seem to jump from 30-100 constantly in CS 1.6 when i'm supposed to get 100 constant. What do you think is wrong wit that?

Thanks
meepins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.