ATI 9600 bit Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default ATI 9600 bit Questions

Question1:
Is "Powercolor" any good when it comes to ATi card manufacturers? (probably spelled that wrong...)

Question2:
How important is it to get a "128-bit" card over a "64-bit" card?Ive noticed that i can get a "discount brand" 128 bit for about the price of a 64-bit Asus or similar.

Question3: (for both questions above)
What kind of performance differences is there?

Thoughts? Answers?
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

I have the Radeon 9800 PRO but it is name brand, my friend has the radeon 9800 and it is from power color and so far from what i can see it is a really nice card, at a really good price. He bought his from new egg and paid i think 160 for it. Nice saying i got my 9800 pro from best buy and paid 340 for it.

The importance of getting 128mb all depends on what kind of user you are. Im a gamer till death. My game of choice right now is the mod Desert Combat for battlefield 1942. The graphics are very complex and in my opinion, you will only get best results from a 128mb card, and things are progressing so much, if you do play any games, a 128mb card is a must. But, if your just a word processing kind of guy i would say 64mb is fine.

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 06:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

I have a 9600 pro from powercolor. I can't tell you if the performance of this particular card is slightly better or slightly worse than one from another manufacturer, but mine has worked flawlessly for 6 months.

I'd go with the 128mb version. If not for games today, doom 3 and HL 2 will use the extra 64 megs well.

If you're not going to use this card for gaming or 3-d rendering, go with a cheaper card.
fiezk is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

no, not 128 MEGAbits, just 128 BIT memory pipeline, or whatever they have.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 07:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

Sorry, didn't read that carefully enough..

128 / 64 is probably refering to the data width.

The data width determine the range of colors can be display through the graphic card; The higher the data width is, the more colorfull picture you can have.

I've only tried the 128 bit version, so I'm not quite sure how big of a difference it makes.
fiezk is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

ok thanks bunch

once i get a bit more money, ill probably buy the 9600.

is there much of a difference between the 9600 and 9600SE?
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.