ati 8500 all-in-wonder software wont install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2003, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Default ati 8500 all-in-wonder software wont install

First i went to my dispaly properies and selected my onbaord video card and clicked unistall. Then restarted and i was in vga mode (i think thats what its called). Next turned off computer and plugged in my agp ati card. Turned computer back on put the driver/software cd in. The drivers installed but everytime the software would try to install, the intsller would only come up for about 5 seconds then close itself and nothing was extracted or intalled. So i tried going to the ati site and download their software (newest version) and it did the same thing. After this i was like maybe the card does not work. So installed another application for video and it worked (tv tuner, etc.). So now i know it cant be my card its not detecting and I looked in my computer manager and it only showed the ati under the display cards/drivers. Im really confused on how to get the software to install. It jus wont extract the files or seomthing. and btw it uses install shield to install. My OS is xp home running on a 2.4 ghz pent 4 500 megs of ram. Any ideas? If not maybe someone who has the same software can send me the files in a zip to extract. Thanks. Im contacting ati on monday btw.

sk83rboy is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313

Try copying the contents of the CD to your HDD and starting it that way.

You could say I've been around.
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

make sure your onboard video is disabled.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 03:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141

Being that I don't know what MoBo you are using.. Make sure that AGP type is compatable.. However, I would think that there would be additional problems if the AGP type wasn't compatable..

Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card ( ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.