Athlon Xp or Sempron 3000? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 02:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrHelpful
you guys are retarded,agp 8x will work. And athlon xp is faster. Stupid fanboys OOOO PCI-E AND AMD 64 ONLY! IM RICH!!!! AHAHAHHA dumb
AGP is old technology, and you are a N00b!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrHelpful
you guys are retarded,agp 8x will work. And athlon xp is faster. Stupid fanboys OOOO PCI-E AND AMD 64 ONLY! IM RICH!!!! AHAHAHHA dumb
I could be mistaken but The pci-e mobo most likly skt 754 while the agp mobo skt A. I not certain because he did not say this but I dont think pci-e comes in skt A and athlon xp only comes in skt A so that how I made this conclusion.

I take a skt 754 sempron over any skt A chip anyday and it has nothing to do with the PCI-E.

I would need to know exactly what 2 chips we comparing but generally speaking a skt 754 sempron is better then it athlon xp counter part.

Edit: opps he did mention chips names. Yeah the sempron 3000+ skt 754 would be better then a athlon xp 3000+.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
AGP is old technology, and you are a N00b!
AGP still gets the job done.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
you guys are retarded,agp 8x will work. And athlon xp is faster. Stupid fanboys OOOO PCI-E AND AMD 64 ONLY! IM RICH!!!! AHAHAHHA dumb
You revived a dying topic to add this? Anyways, trolling is a good way to end up in the banned usergroup so quit while you are ahead mate, okee?

The Sempron and the Athlon XP are derived of about the same architecture from my understanding, however the Athlon XP will benefit from the dual channel abilities of Socket A, unless you're talking about a 939 Sempron
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara

The Sempron and the Athlon XP are derived of about the same architecture from my understanding, however the Athlon XP will benefit from the dual channel abilities of Socket A, unless you're talking about a 939 Sempron
A skt 754 sempron has built in memory controller and hypertransport while athlon xp does not. Those 2 things are alot more important then dual channel.

just to note the sempron 64 3000+ cost the same as the sempon 3000+ at newegg so there no reason not to get the 64bit version.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

sorry internet was being dumb and I accedently double posted.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
A skt 754 sempron has built in memory controller and hypertransport while athlon xp does not. Those 2 things are alot more important then dual channel.
I was tempted to say that the Sempron had the memory controller built into it but I wasn't sure, especially since the Sempron is also availible on socket A.

Now that I look back, I see the guy that I quoted who decided to a fanboy rant was also the original poster of this topic, so I'll assume his question was answered since he noted that Athlon XPs were faster.

Not to mention he lashed out on people giving him some advice
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.