Athlon XP or Athlon 64 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2004, 03:39 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

so...its all about the mobo?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:39 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

apokalypse please look at the AMD link

64 bit width, sorry even if the motherboard supports it, the CPU will not

and GameGURU, you should wait for prices to drop on 3500+ 939 cpus because later you may wish to upgrade your processor and 754's will be dead so go with the 939, i assume by fall the prices will drop significantly for the lower end 939's which is what i wish i had gotten
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:50 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...101&CatId=1178

Why does this mobo has Dual Channel Support?
looks like tigerdirect got it wrong

chaintech's website

or maybe chaintech doesn't know what their own motherboard is capable of?

nowhere does it say dual channel capable
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 07:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Probably false advertisment. But the good thing is i didn't buy it.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 11:00 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
apokalypse please look at the AMD link

64 bit width, sorry even if the motherboard supports it, the CPU will not

and GameGURU, you should wait for prices to drop on 3500+ 939 cpus because later you may wish to upgrade your processor and 754's will be dead so go with the 939, i assume by fall the prices will drop significantly for the lower end 939's which is what i wish i had gotten
I think i might listen to you on that one.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:56 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
I think i might listen to you on that one.
ya

and 939 supports dual channel ram

also they have the newcastle core which is supposedly faster than the clawhammer
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 05:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

if you have the money, definitely a 64, but if ur on a budget, go for the xp
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 05:34 PM   #28 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Look... REGARDLESS to what ever anyone has read... Socket 754s DO NOT and WILL NEVER support dual channel RAM. Slvrstang is right... Even if the mobo suppports it, the chip does not. So before posting information like it is fact... verify it first.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 04:31 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

So if i am building a computer should I get a 64 3200 and not have dual channel or a xp 3200 and have dual channel memory?
Ice9 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:25 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ice9
So if i am building a computer should I get a 64 3200 and not have dual channel or a xp 3200 and have dual channel memory?
?
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.