Athlon xp 2600+ or sempron 3000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Athlon xp 2600+ or sempron 3000

What is better?

ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291

xp 2600+ because the sempron is like duron, its the "workstation" cpu. from AMD's "budget CPU" selection.

Simon is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432

Actually Sempron's ARE Athlon XP's I do recall, only a certain few use the 64bit core

So I would say it would be a tough call and leave that up to the rest

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

the sempron 3100+ uses a socket 754 platform and uses a 32bit version of a athlon 64. Xp's are a great all round processor and they peform well in games, applications, and multimedia. The sempron however is far superior to the celeron D as shown here:,00.html

The sempron has more cache and higher bandwidth than the celeron.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn

Sempron (Socket A) only have a 256k L2 cache - unlike the normal XP Barton's 512k. I would go for the 2600, assuming it's the Barton @ 333mhz fsb. Actually, you could save even more money and get the 2500 barton, which isn't much slower, and then overclock the crap out of it.
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Yeah, don't be tricked into getting a Sempron, unless you want a proccesor that will run cooler and is less expensive than the Athlon, although you are sacrificing performance for price.

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.