Athlon XP with 133 Mhz memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2004, 05:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Question Athlon XP with 133 Mhz memory

LO THERE!

im wondering how much slower is lets say Athlon XP 2500+ (barton) with 133 sdr memory against same cpu and proper 333 mhz memory?
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 02-04-2004, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

much, lol seriously it all depends

1) are the programs u use memory intensive?
2) how much RAM will you have?
3) can you even use PC133 in the DDR slots?
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 02-04-2004, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think it is impossible to pair a xp2500 with pc100 or pc133 memory.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-04-2004, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yes, if the board has 2 different memory slots, like the ECS K7S5A. It has 2 for DDR and 2 for SDRAM. I would stay away from the SDRAM, you are going to feel the hurt in performance. Memory isn't that expensive, I'd bite the bullet and get a stick of 512 for about $65.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 02-04-2004, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

This is when you want to spend the extra few bucks. If you go cheap, don't do it on memory.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 02-04-2004, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dethangel
3) can you even use PC133 in the DDR slots?
I have had my boss as my that question 3 times in the last 2 week.

He asks me one more time, I am going to give him an SD RAM and DDR Ram emina so he can remember the difference. :amazed:

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
i think it is impossible to pair a xp2500 with pc100 or pc133 memory.
Depends on the motherboard i find.

I had to do a service job on a computer last year and I stumbled accross that set up.

Why you want to build a computer with that set up in the first place in beyond me.

The only REAL REASON i can see is that the end user spent too much on his SDRAM @ PC133 investment with his last computer, and he is too tight @$$ to upgrade properly.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

It's for people who want to spend money slowly, one part at a time. Stay away from those boards, they are bad (I had one once). Just bite the bullet and get the DDR. You only live once.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Actaully, I do feel sorry for those users. Some time it a case of little knowlegde, bad timing and/or little cash.

My sister for example :-

COMPUTER 1. - SLOT P-III Motherboard. They did not last long.

COMPUTER 2. - AMD Athlon 1100 with a motherboard and SDRAM. DDR Ram and compatable got really cheap 4 weeks later. And SDRam motherboard got tough to find.

COMPUTER 3. - Socket 423 Pentium 4 1.7 with RAMBUS memory..... Lets not go there shall we.

COMPUTER 4. - which she is picking up tomorrow is an AMD Athlon 2400. And this time, I assisted her in making a motherboard purchase so she could max things out, and get a better retunr on her investment before going up to AMD Athlon 64.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 10:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

I have no complaint's but ill be happier with a 2.8c and 800fsb ddr.My 133 served me well in EQ with 2 acounts per computer.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 06:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

there are still quite many socket a mofos with 133 memory around and with new bios they can be equipped with newwer athlons (durons would prolly be more reasonable choice). i just havent seen any benchmarks comparing sdr vs ddr with same cpu. id like to see specially some gaming bencmarks.

but ah do not worry, im not going to buy that kinda combo.
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.