Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2009, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick

Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick

Looks like owners of the Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition can unlock two more CPU cores by merely exploiting flawed BIOS code. This trick was used on a Phenom II X3 as well. There’s usually a reason for the cores to be disabled though. I wonder if you gain 2 cores but sacrifice stability.

This was made possible by the way AMD has been designing its triple-core and dual-core processors based on the K10 "Stars" architecture: by disabling one or two cores on the quad-core die. "Sloppy" BIOS coding lead to the Phenom II X3 anomaly. It looks like a somewhat similar mod enables not one, but two cores on the sub-$100 Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick



That is very cool...a quad core for under $60. Would there be any major drawbacks? Stability etc?
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick

They wouldn't all be able to do it, and most of the time they would be terribly unstable. My x3 720 can't do it, even at stock settings...freezes up at the Vista loading screen.

I may pick up a 7750 just to try this out...you know, when I'm not broke.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Athlon X2 7750 BE Quad-Core Enabled via BIOS Trick

From what I have read about this the extra cores are really unstable which is why they were disabled. If you are lucky enough to have stable cores they will not generally overclock as well. hikaricloud unlocked his forth core and it was extremely unstable.

So a lucky few can get a cheap quad core.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
quad core vs duel core..single gpu vs x2 gpu soulafien New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-21-2008 04:41 PM
EVGA Nvidia i790 Ultra SLI & Xeon Core 2 Quad Zero4549 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-14-2008 10:23 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.