Athlon Venice Vs. P4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Athlon Venice Vs. P4

Ok, so this summer, I am buying a new CPU, question: How will an AMD Athlon 64 3500 Venice stand up against my current P4 3.4 CPU? The Athlon only runs at 2.2Ghz, the P4 at 3.4Ghz. Overall, will I see a performance gain?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Probably some, but that seems like a bad upgrade. Your P4 has a lot of life still in it.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If your a gamer you will notice a slight peformance game. But if you OC the venice (which you should be able to OC 800mhzish) you will notice a big gain.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, I probably will OC. Is it worth getting a Venice 3500 or some other core 3800? Also, the L2 cache is only 512kb, is this gonna be a problem?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Theres nothing really more in the performance of the stock venice.. But its overclockability is amazing. I doubt there would be a difference in buying say a newcastle 3200 than a venice 3200 except if u were overclocking.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So, is it that it is physically able to handle higher temps when overclocking?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Newcastles handle higher temps but dont OC as well

Venice is great if your overclocking, Newcastle sucks for OC
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 08:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Venices run at very low voltages and output little heat, so they overclock very well

unless you plan to overclock, you won't see a noticable difference to your Pentium 4

DJ-CHRIS: Newcastles don't really "suck" at overclocking, compared to CPU's other than the Venice, they are reasonably good
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Default

is there a way that I can check to see if I have a venice core?
I have a new AMD Athlon 64 3500 plus (came with my system) but I don't know what the core is
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I believe the product number on the processor itself might tell you
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.