Athlon FX or Dual Opteron 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2004, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Default Athlon FX or Dual Opteron 64

I need the help of the experts (which means you) with my dillemma.
I am putting together my version of the ulitmate gaming machine and I am wondering about processers. I have a well to do budget and I am thinking about the Athlon FX, but the MSI motherboard that I am looking at also supports dual Opteron chips. My question is when it comes to gaming, video editing and other college essiential tasks, which would perform better for my desktop computer?
__________________

Tiberius is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Don't waste your money on Dual processors if you are building a gaming machine. The reason for this is that most of the popular games out there are not set up for multithreading. You will also need an OS that supports dual processors. That means you cant use Win98. The Athlon FX teamed with a decent Video card will make an awesome gaming machine.

Several years ago I set out to do the same thing. This was when the first Celeron 300A's came out I used an ABIT BP6 and dual Celerons overclocked to 550 MHz. This was when most people had 300 or 400 MHz machines. Imagine my surpise when my Win2k Task manager only showed one processor running at any one time. True, it would switch off processors but when one processor was at 100%, the other one was at zero.

So with 99% of the games out there you will see no benefit with two processors.

-Target
__________________

Target is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ok this is my opinion:
the FX is over $1200 and the 3400 at about $600 (aussie dollars) but the 3400 performs almost as good; plus a lot more motherboards support it now. I would go with a 3400. Also, from what ive heard the Athlon 64 3400 still perform better than the P4 3.2GHZ even at 32 bit
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.