Athlon FX-53 Socket 939 and 940? The Difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2004, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default Athlon FX-53 Socket 939 and 940? The Difference?

I was reading a review to see that the 939 had better performance in 3d games, what exacty is the difference in these sockets? Is it worth the money?

theor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

Socket 939 supports hypertransport which kicks up the onboard front side bus to 2gb. Socket 939 also supports dual channel ram. Those two things alone will give you your noticable gamming difference. The socket 939 fx-53 is the top AMD processor at the moment *drool*

<img src = \"\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432

As far as I knew, they already supported HT

939 allows for dual channel support and you don't need the expensive and slow Registered RAM

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

939 performs slightly better than the 940 because, like Merlin said, 940 uses the ECC and Registered ram, which is more expensive and slower than normal non-ECC and unregistered ram.
<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 04:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I'd say wait for the FX-55 if you're going into the FX series
socket 939 is slightly faster though, like what was posted above, they don't need registerd RAM
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 04:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Theres 1 less pin on the 939

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.