Athlon 754 3700+ or 939 3500+ upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2005, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Athlon 754 3700+ or 939 3500+ upgrade?

Which should I upgrade to

Athlon 754skt 3700+

or

Athlon 939skt 3500+

They are both about same price on eBay but one has bigger Hypertransport and dual channel..... the other, twice the cache

So far benchmarks say 3700+
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

socket 939 is the way to go

754 is outdated already

also, a 3500 is already enough

go with a Venice 3500

edit: why the hell are you buying off ebay? aren't they expensive?

both of them have the same hyper transport, and the addition 512mb cache doesn't really matter THAT much
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

I also recommend thje venice 3500. The only reason y you owuld need more cach is if you extensively do rendering 3d stuff to even be able to tell much of a difference.

The 3500+ will oc to a 3700 or even higher.
the 3500+ is 90nm, the 3700 is 130nm
they both support hyper transport.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

He's suggesting that the 3700+ has the slower hypertransport speed (800MHz), not whether one or the other doesn't have it.

Get a 3200+ Venice and you'll be set for at LEAST a year.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

i want to keep my leadtek 6600gt AGP and not go PCI ex

What does Venice have over the Winchester anyways?

It just runs with less voltage and costs like +$30
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Not too much difference really from first appearances, the Venice boast an improved memory controller and SSE3 instructions which edge out the previous cores slightly in benchmarks.

The true advantage of the Venice is its ability to sustain high clock frequencies, often on less voltage, than its previous cores. The previous 90nm technology had a bit of a bug which kept it reduced to a certain speed, hence why you don't see any 4000+ or FX-55 Winchesters. The Venice core corrected this problem and can operate at those speeds that were beyond the Winnies reach.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Venices can have much higher overclocks, and like gaara said, it has the SSE3 instruction set and a better memory controller
the memory controller can now run 2 sticks of RAM with different sizes, and is not so fussy about some types
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.