Athlon 64FX vs. 64 4000+ - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2004, 10:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hahah, this is just for fun, the information where apokalipse gathered from must be expected processor specifications that someone has written there before FX-55 was made. so not his fault. but i'll concentrate on true information on the forum.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 10:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

thats actually current, still no need for the flame though lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I see what it is; the 90nm 4000+ has 512kb L2 cache but the 130nm 4000+ has 1MB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:32 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

huh wonder why?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

where is the 90nm AMD 4000+?

I have just finished writing to AMD for the proper web update, as other third party sources can be un-reliable.

at least good thing about intel's processor is that they have everything on their website.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 11:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

but amd pwns them anyways, and this is really a petty arguement though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 03:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

well apocalypse you 16 year old know-it-all you apparently have something to learn... instead of blabbing about your amazing knowledge perhaps you should learn to check around instead of reading something posted by some joe schmoe in SEPTEMBER!(check that website)... newegg, along with AMD's own site list it as 1mb for BOTH, how can you not accept that they are basically the same is beyond me, most people argue about stuff they own, but you are just arguing for the fact of arguing... and thanks arrow for carrying on the good fight in my stead
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 03:17 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...5E9532,00.html
psydesign is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 03:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well this 8.7% difference is just because of 200Mhz higher clock on FX-55 @ 2.6Ghz. while 4000+ is 2.4Ghz.

the FX-53 is exactlly the same as AMD Athlon64 4000+, not the FX-55

Thanks Leonidas for backup, now i've started thinking how AMD's will take my e-mail as I told them that we are fighting for the true information on computer forum (thanks God, I didnt told them the forum name, or it would have been a disgrace for the forum)

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 05:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Many reviewers have proven that the Sledgehammer core for the Opteron is architecturally exactly the same as the Newcastle, Winchester, and Clawhammer cores for the Athlon 64. It is just AMD's way of squeezing more money out of people. Since they are gaining more of the market, they believe they can start dictating prices like Intel can right now. (No Offense) The 4000+ is just a renamed Athlon 64 FX-53 except it doesn't have a multiplier that is fully unlocked. The Athlon 64 4000+ has a multiplier that can go down, but it can't go up. If you're ocing the the FX-53 will the better of the two.

Oh and I think Apokalypse is right about the 4000+ 130nm and 90nm versions. It seems logical to me because the 90nm processors have a 7% increase in speed over a 130nm with the same rating. So, it is logical that AMD would trade in 512K cache for 90nm since it would mean better perf on the 90nm, think about it you oc a 90nm by 100 mhz and your actually getting a 2.675 clock speed instead of 2.5 since the 90nms run 7 % faster clock for clock.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.