Athlon 64 Venice&Diego, P4 Ghz, questions! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Athlon 64 Venice&Diego, P4 Ghz, questions!

Okay, some questions here: Is an Athlon 64 3700 going to provide a noticible difference in performance from a P4 3.4? Also, I see that the 64's run at about 2.4 Ghz whereas my P4 runs at 3.4 Ghz. What exactly does this mean? Do the Ghz mean anything? Finally, theres alot of hype surrounding Venice and San Diego. What exactly are these? Can someone refer a link or explain please? Thanks everyone.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

The AMD 64 chips have been proven to be better for gaming. The AMDs use an architecture which differs from Intel's, so to compare the actual clock speed of the chips isnt a good comparison.

P4s are still great for gaming, just that a price-equivalent AMD will game a little better.

Have a look at this to compare AMD and Intel:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/index.html
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

The GHz mean nothing when comparing Intel to AMD. A 3700+ means that it was made to compete or be similar to and Intel 3.7GHz.

Venice cores are the same as the original (Winchester), but they have SSE3 instructions. This means that their archeticture is a litte better and is capable of running newer software faster.

San Deigo is the same as Venice, but with a 1024KB L2 cache. Venice has only 512KB.

(Venice and San Deigo will also be able to overclock a heck of a lot more.)
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's more than SSE because the venice's are getting 3.0GHZ on air


From an AMD guy, your PC still has alot of like left in it, you went intel too bad. Next time, get whatever one is better.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, about the L2 Cache, how important is that? I notciced most of the AMD64's have only 512 kb whereas my P4 has 1mb.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well the cache is what it accesses before going to the memory so more cache technically = better performance but you're not going to notice anything drastic between 512 and 1mb

The only thing venice cores have in common with winchester is the 90nm structure. As been said it has the SSE3 instructions added but beyond that it has a new architecture and way of layering the silicon.

This is why the AMD64 3000+ venice cores (stock 1.8GHz) have been hitting generally atleast 2.8GHz right out of the box
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So, is there a big performance difference between a Venice and a non venice CPU?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yea, you can overclock the Venice very easily to higher speeds with stock Vcore and stock cooling.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well more sets of instructions will make it be able to perform better in certain areas, depends on if the bench or program makes use of it.

Otherwise it's marginally better than a winchester but what really makes it shine is it's ability to OC quite high
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

But the OCing depends on my mobo bios right? If I just overclock the CPU a bit, do I have to worry about any other components being affected? Also, what are the risks of OCing? just overheating right?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.