Athlon 64 to go exclusively 939 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 11:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Just automatic, not manumatic. Or as VW call them "Tiptronic". Dude, when I was in Germany [ I was born and raised there, lived there for 7 years], people always asked if you were handicapped if you drove an automatic. Everyone drove a manual, my mom too, lol. WHen I came to North America, I was like, you bunch of lazy bastards, lol.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

A ferrari tranny is extremely finely tuned, working perfectly.

That paddles are great. New method of shifting. There is no clutch, and you have the choice of standard or automatic. When you want standard, there are two paddles behind the steering wheel (one on the left and one on the right) that you pull towards you to shift. You pull the otherone to downshift. That tranny is better than any stick out there, and shifts faster than the best driver.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

meh, still an automatic, wastes power, a little less control too, usually dont last as long either
horndude is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Riiiiiiiiight, could have sworn the point of this post was about processors somewhere in there and not cars

Anyway, I'd love to see the mobiles move to socket 939, a mobile venice core socket 939 CPU would be awesome
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 07:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Plates in the clutch's wear out faster than an automatic, but does a ferrari have a clutch???

Yeah, goo dthing their going exclusivly 754, drops 754 prices.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:21 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

clutch pack in an automatic wears out too, and quicker than a properly driven manual

look, ive had 23 cars/trucks, and ive driven about 1.1 million miles so far, ive had everything from small econo boxes to sports cars to 26,000lb trucks, automatics dont last as long, you drive either one really hard and they dont last long,but ive consistently gotten about 150,000miles out of manual clutches, average automatic,about 100-115k
horndude is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:56 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Ummm NO! Depends how you use it. If you, let's say, drive a Corvette with Borlas, and other mods, and drive to the max, obviously you'll need a new clutch pretty soon, and tranny, if you have lot's of torque. If you drive moderetly, you'll need one like after 200K. My dad had a 87' tercel Hatchback, 5 Spd standard, we needed a new clutch at 205 646 KM, I remember. WIth manual, it's fun, and you get the most out of your engine. There's no Transmission oil to buy, since it uses the engine oil, and it's easier to do burnouts, and corner. You can use the clutch to shift some weight of the car when you corner hard, unless you got Eibachs.

Anyways...... By How much are they going to drop? 20 bucks, 30, bucks, 50 bucks?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Good thing I got a 939 instead of the 754

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

...Take the talk about cars to my thread in overclocking about lights and my car..... Anyways now i feel like my system is complete **** since its socket 754 and not even 5 months old yet... Hell socket A is still around......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:51 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Quote:
Hell socket A is still around
WHat do you mean by that? They still sell them??
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.