Athlon 64 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 02:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

ya i recommend going with pc3200. I have 1 gb in my computer and its unbelievable how fast it is. go witha good brand i went with a cheaper one and of the sticks is bad so i have to take it back but the good sticks which is only 512 works awsome so i guess u could say i only have 512 in my comp at the moment.
__________________

socom234 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 03:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by codeus
Yeah, I'm looking at around $250 for mobo w/cpu, and $200 or so for the graphics card. The 6600GT sounds perfect. My last question, should I get new memory, I already have 1gb of PC2700, but I suppose upgrading to PC3200 would be good? And is having dual-channel that important? And which would get better performance, 2 random 512mb's or one 1gb stick.
For dual channel get 2x 512mb sticks
A MSI K8N NEO2 + 3000+ Will be about $280
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 03:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
And is having dual-channel that important? And which would get better performance, 2 random 512mb's or one 1gb stick.
Dual channel isn’t that important and you wont really see a big big difference in performance over single channel.

If you do decide to get a motherboard with Dual channel then you should get 2 x 512mb stick.

Make sure they are the exact same stick as each other in size, speed and manufacturer or else it won’t work.
So you cant just get 2 random stick of 512mb ram it has to be the same.

Neosteve
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 03:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neosteve
Dual channel isn’t that important and you wont really see a big big difference in performance over single channel.

Neosteve
Dual channel will give you a nice boost in memory bandwidth
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

when did the 120nm technology came into being?

anyway, as beedubaya said, yes Cache increase does effects performance, as Cache is most expensive in Processor.

and 90nm means that you can embedd same numbers of transistors in same space, even expandibility. theorotically the 90nm yield helps minimizing the heat disapation, which Intel couldnt achieve due to current leakage which is still out of control. but AMD coming afterwards in 90nm wafer. have efficently controlled everything. other factors being IBM's SOI technology and blah blah.

wait for little time, as unlike Intel, AMD started thri processors from lower clock so that they can move upwards afterwards in 90nm wafer.

in 3-4 months time, they'll hit the 3500+ based on 90nm wafer. or more.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 09:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

to me, it seems funny to describe cpu's in "wafers"
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 09:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

only the 3500+ in the winchester core is the same internally as the 3200+ and 3000+
most of the 3500+'s are Newcastle's at 130nm
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.