Athlon 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to codeus
Default Athlon 64

So I'm building a new computer after 3 years of having this Athlon XP system. I'm thinking of getting an Athlon 64 3000+. Is there a large performance increase in the 512k cache vs. 1mb cache, will there be in the future. Same thing for the 120nm vs. 90nm, is there a large performance increase, will there be in the future? I haven't really taken any look at Intel, do they have any decent 64-bit processors that aren't that expensive?
__________________

codeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that depends on what you're doing
in gaming it makes a bigger difference

if you're going for the 3000+, make sure it's in socket 939
the socket 939 3000+ and 3200+ are both 90nm instead of 130nm which means they use less voltage, which means they also run cooler
and there is a small performance increase too
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to codeus
Default

I'm going to be doing a little gaming, but mostly like photo editing and video editing, will the 512kb vs. 1mb of cache make much of a difference?
codeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I would always tend to go with the 1MB cache version. Cache really does make a difference in gaming. Thats why the Pentium 4 EE is so darn expensive. It has 2MB of L3 cache.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Since your not going to be a full time gamer, you can get a 6600gt, its a good card, the 6600gt is fairly new and fast. Since your doing video editing and such, i recomend 1gb of ram in a Dual Channel Config and of coarse a Raid 0 of 2 sata drives.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to codeus
Default

Hrm.. yeah, the 6600 GT looks nice, only thing I noticed about it, only 128mb of video memory, will that make a huge difference now? In the future? I'm definitely settled on an Athlon 64 3200+ 90nm now though.
codeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I dont think it will make a big difference, in time they might release 256mb models. If your worried about it, you could go for a 6800gt. Also, whats your budget?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

I would say get a 939 9nm 3200+ They overclock very well, use less power and disipate less he
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

So, 90nm 3200+, and either a 6600, or a 6800gt
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to codeus
Default

Yeah, I'm looking at around $250 for mobo w/cpu, and $200 or so for the graphics card. The 6600GT sounds perfect. My last question, should I get new memory, I already have 1gb of PC2700, but I suppose upgrading to PC3200 would be good? And is having dual-channel that important? And which would get better performance, 2 random 512mb's or one 1gb stick.
__________________

codeus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.