Athlon 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2004, 02:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Athlon 64

I am wanting to get more speed out of my PC, and I was wondering if it would really make a difference to go out and buy an Athlon 64 Chip. Currently I have a XP 2600+ Chip with an FSB of only 166 Mhz, which means that the 1 gig of PC 3200 I have is only running at 2700. I was looking at maybe a 2800+ or a 3000+, because I really don't have a lot of money to spend. Would it really make a difference to get a Athlon 64 Chip, or is really not worth the money?
__________________

Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

this maynot answer your ?, but i was looking into sorta the same thing.

the old 64's like +3000, use socket 754, witch limits u to singel channel ram and +3700 speed(i think).

so i was looking at this 64bit Opteron.. Link witch usess socket 940, 1MB L2 cache, alowing for duel channel ram, and can be future upgraded to 64 FX.

the only down side i notice so far is the 940socket mother bourds are more expensive then the others. and im still looking into socket940... i dont know the performance difference between 939 and 940 yet, or if there is any downside to socket 940??

but if i find nothing rong with that socket, that opteron is prolly the best bang for your buck cpu, it will prolly perform better then a +3000 if used with duel channel ram(im guessing) and the mobo cost maybe worth it, cause of its upgrade potential
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 04:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

well it sort of depends on your needs. Obviously an AMD64 chip would be better long term, but if you dont have the money then its not worth it. There arent really any applications that utilise 64-bit. Until there are, theres not much point rushing out to get one (unless you have the cash handy). If you just want your ram running at 3200 speeds, you could try overclocking your chip to 200FSB and see how that goes? Of course, read up on it before you try it and get a really good cooling system happening.

Anyway hope some of this helped.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 05:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
so i was looking at this 64bit Opteron.. Link witch uses socket 940, 1MB L2 cache, alowing for dual channel ram, and can be future upgraded to 64 FX.
The Opteron is a server CPU. yes they do support dual-channel RAM, but so do the socket 939 and the FX series (socket 940) only the socket 754 CPU's don't, that is one of the reasons that they are going to phase them into the new socket for normal Athlon XP's. The 939 socket is the best value for money 64bit CPU at the moment, because it supports dual channel RAM and they will be used for fair while still, if you are looking to buy into the 64bit market, go for a socket 939, because they will be much more upgradable in the future. 64bit is worth the upgrade, provided u get the 939.

Quote:
you could try overclocking your chip to 200FSB and see how that goes?
a good idea, but i dont think the cpu will be able to clock that far, AMD's dont really like clocking, but they are generally fast enough not to need it
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 06:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Athlon 64 3000+ performs about as well as the Athlon XP 3200+
if you want to upgrade to an Athlon 64, don't get a socket 754 as they will be replaced, and in future, you will not be able to upgrade with your current motherboard

I suggest either stick with your 2600+ for a while unless you are willing to spend more for socket 940 or socket 939
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 07:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the Athlon 64 3000+ performs about as well as the Athlon XP 3200+
if you want to upgrade to an Athlon 64, don't get a socket 754 as they will be replaced, and in future, you will not be able to upgrade with your current motherboard

I suggest either stick with your 2600+ for a while unless you are willing to spend more for socket 940 or socket 939
Yer this is what i would, but wait for the socket 939 3200+ and 3000+ to come out in the end of this year and will be cheaper than the socket 754 3200+ and 3000+ prices right now! Just wait! you will be glad you did!
Vortexkrow is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the Athlon 64 3000+ performs about as well as the Athlon XP 3200+
if you want to upgrade to an Athlon 64, don't get a socket 754 as they will be replaced, and in future, you will not be able to upgrade with your current motherboard

I suggest either stick with your 2600+ for a while unless you are willing to spend more for socket 940 or socket 939
The Athlon 64 3000+ performs much faster than the Athlon XP 3200+ when running in 32-bit.

Comparing the Athlon 64 3000+ to the XP 3200+ when running in 64-bit... Forget it. Uncomparible.

P.S.: Socket 940 sucks and it requires ECC.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Looking at the Socket 939's on Newegg amoung other places, they are still quite expensive. So I think I will take your advice and wait. Hopefully the price will drop.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

754 is still going to be around for a while. It is well worth upgrading to it now as when running in 64-bit, the performance jump is going to be BIG. They are really inexpensive also.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 05:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Socket 940 sucks and it requires ECC
thx for the info, i notice all the bourds i saw had that, but wasnt shur it it was just the bourd type or specifically the socket.

Quote:
socket 939 3200+ and 3000+ come out in the end of this year
thx also, i wasnt shur if thy were going to make the slowest 64's in socket 939.

justa waiting game now.

hopfully the 6800 standard, will also drop price around that same time.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.