ATA and SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2004, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default ATA and SATA

do these two hook op the same way? (Throught IDE cable)
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no, SATA have a much smaller data cable, even smaller than the diameter of IDE round cables.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

And it goes without saying, thusly you need either a SATA connection on your motherboard or an adapter to have SATA drives.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Check this post .. All u wanna know 'bout Sata n' ATA is there

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...8205#post58205
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Thanks I have all that.

Which one is faster?

Can I have 2 harddrives hooked up through ATA and one through SATA?
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 02:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Sata is faster. You can have different types of drives hooked up to a pc if the mainboard supports it. My board, for instance, allows both ata and sata, although right now i'm only running ata drives.
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Sata is the future of hard drives. if you are planning on getting buy an new MOBO, make sure it has SATA on it.

I got one of my flatmates that is in the process of upgrading his computer. He was thinking of getting a new hard drive from me, but when i told him half the stuff i heard from this SEAGATE launch last week, i have convinced him to wait until he has money for the new MOBO + CPU + RAM first, with a SATA hard drive.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

sata really shines when you get two of them and put them in a raid setup, either for speed or reliability.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 04:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

SATA is Better than ATA.
The transfer rate of SATA is 150 MB And ATA transfer rate is 100MB.
If you buying a HD that is suppports SATA then you must that your mother board will support SATA too. But you have to consider that mother board that supports SATA more expensive that one is not.
Wishmaster is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no USB2.0, onboard sound/NIC, and SATA are standard on most mobos now, they don't cost any extra.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.