Asus releases Pentium-M adapter - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 11:40 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
there is no lga775...
I know, that is why I said "where is it?"
See, if it were there, I would have said "there it is!"
See the difference?

~Edit~ I am a jack ***.....
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 07:06 AM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well the cooling doesn't seem too big an issue since they got it overclocked to FX-55 levels on the regular air cooling, which is plenty enough for me of an overclock I think. Of course if you wanted to go nuts and watercool it I suppose you could fit a block on there somehow, I don't know.
It may not work on many boards but mine happens to be one of them. I spent $200 on this motherboard and I'm not looking to get rid of it anytime soon, so I'm seriously considering upgrading my processor to one of these mobiles.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 07:39 AM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Panther5060
and its included in the package.

DJ im not talking about the straight k6, that wasnt even the equivilant to the pentium 1...

im talking about the k6-2/+/k6-3/+

those processors came out at speeds ranging from 333mhz to 550mhz when at the time intel had the pentium 2 out, which promptly got whipped. The k6-2+ even kept up with a p3 about 50mhz faster so... ya, and for under 200$ for a top of the line cpu, you can guarantee that amd got itself into the race with that cpu line.

Trotter

none of the imitations that amd made surpassed the originals

and ya, with the last three, i DEFINATLY want to see some other benchmarks supporting this too. This is more than likely too good to be true... Itd be rather amazing though dont you think... 2.0ghz p4 klowns athlon 64 fx-53 (prescotts have yet to really do that even LMAO)

dale

Microsoft is better than macintosh only because of the availability of programs on pcs, and the same lack of availability on macs. In terms of stability, security, and power, macs are probably better.
All what I know was I never liked them, and the 333 I was working on didnt have l2 cache
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 08:05 AM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

then u had a k6-2 and i agree, they were sorta like the early celerons

except they had 512kb/1mb cache on the motherboard, celerons had a big bag of air and a soda can...

btw, fitting a water cooler on this couldnt be that hard, they are saying the only reason you cant use a standard socket 478 heatsink is b/c the processor is too high in the socket=too much pressure and CRACK

so, remove the plastic brace, and get one of those bolt-through solutions with a backplate on the motherboard. Then its simply a matter of screw length/psi.

note: if ur gonna do that, tighten the two screws that the heatsink hangs from (once the case is rightside up) then tighten the ones it sits on. dont think it makes a difference, it does..

or even better... make yourself a shim from copper...
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 12:08 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Panther5060
btw, fitting a water cooler on this couldnt be that hard, they are saying the only reason you cant use a standard socket 478 heatsink is b/c the processor is too high in the socket=too much pressure and CRACK
That shouldn't be a problem. I'm sure my 133mm Zalman 7700-Cu 2.1 pound heatsink won't crack or damage it at all...
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 01:45 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

its not the weight, its the pressure of either tightening the bolts down, or trying to get the heatsink to attach to the retention clip.

if your heatsink bolts on from a metal clip on the opposite side of the motherboard, ud probably need longer screws and thats about it lol.

oh and clearance for those jumpers...
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The zalman has a backplate which 2 spacers and then you screw two small clips into the spacers to hold it.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 09:41 PM   #48 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,305
Default

@ Dale,

Let us know when you do upgrade to a Pantium mobile, and be sure to let us know the OC results.

I am actually starting to look at Intel. I like the looks of the BTX form factor.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-08-2005, 01:13 AM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

yes dale tell us... but do it before june/july because those are my planned months for building a p4-M system and id hate to take your glory away from you...
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 03:04 AM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
And here come the AMD fans trying to make pathetic excuses. No Intels have way better memory bandwidth. I get like 5998MB/s/5997MB/s on sandra's memory bench compared to AMD scoring like 3000 each way.
must you turn this into an argument?
with your logic, I could say those are the words of an Intel fanboy
what you're doing is assuming that I'm on one side.
my "pathetic excuse" is not an excuse at all, it is just a question of accuracy.
I didn't say I dislike Intel at all, in fact I prefer Pentium 4's over Athlon XP's
I applaud Intel for their Pentium M's, but like said before, I don't really believe this benchmark is accurate
the fact is, Athlon 64's do get higher memory bandwith, because of their onboard memory controller.
maybe the Athlon XP's would get 3000 because of their low speed FSB, but Athlon 64's get well above that.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.