Asus P4P800 SE Ai Series Motherboard. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Asus P4P800 SE Ai Series Motherboard.

Hi.
im kinda new to tech forums. yet i have a good fealing ill be posting alot soon .

Ne way back to the point. i have recently upgraded my ram to 768mb ddr ram and am about to go to another 1024mb ram and thats gonna be 1700+ of ram (cant be bothered working it out) and i know thats hefty. one of my mates reckons that only some motherboards can handle that sort of thing. but hes not sure about mine. can anyone here inform me on if the Asus P4P800 SE Ai Series Motherboard. can handle 1792mb of RAM

(i have 4 RAM Slots and 2 are being used, 1 512mb and 1 256mb.. im going to get a 1024mb ram card and slap it in.)
__________________

ChevMiester003 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default

i think for that particular board it should handle maybe a little over 2 gig, if not just plain 2, if anyone can provide chev with a more accurate answer, i invite you to, but most newer boards can usually handle 2gb, so in answer to your question you should theoretically be able to put that memory in your pc without hassle, but the strange amount of ram may upset it, if you start getting funny errors, just remove the smaller stick of the 3, you will be fine. trial and error. if you find that your machine plays up, try swapping the places of the ram, or remove a stick and see if it errors again, keep trying combinations till it stops beeping/freezing/whatever.
__________________

Zidane is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ChevMiester003,

In case if you havent noticed,

http://www.asus.com/products/mb/sock...e/overview.htm

Yeah
Quote:
800FSB/4GB Dual-DDR400 Memory
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

Ah ok. thanks
ChevMiester003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.