Asus P4B problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2003, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default Asus P4B problem

I have a P4B motherboard with a P4 1.5GHz (Willamette). The problem I'm having is with one of my hard drives. I have two 40 gig Maxtor hard drives connected to the primary ide connector, one set to slave and the other master, and they are in the right postion on the cable. I have set the hard drives to turn off after 20 minutes, to reduce the noise from my system. Occasionally, when I try to access a file or program on the slave drive (after it has shut down) the screen will freeze and the computer starts to beep - 2 beeps with a pause in between. Usually, the slave drive will come to life, but other times the computer stays frozen. When this first started I sent the drive back to Maxtor for servicing, but they said there was nothing wrong with it. So maybe it's the motherboard. I successfully flashed to the most recent bios - 1012. Any ideas to remedy this?
__________________

newbie_canuck is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

Flip the drives around.

You never know....

If that does nothing, then remove one HDD, If that doesn't work remove the other. That way, you can rule out a bad HDD, and If you find out that on drive is bad, then you must either try using it in another system, or toss it.

(personally I would either give it away or take it apart.)
__________________

Mm9004 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. I have tested both HDD's on thier own and both work fine. Since my initial post I have e-mailed the Asus support desk, so we'll see what they have to say.
Thanks again.
newbie_canuck is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I'm using Windows XP Pro ... and yes, it beeps every time.
newbie_canuck is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

Here is a link to every kind beep code in the world:

http://www.hardwarecentral.com/hardw...utorials/13/2/

Maybe it helps?
Mm9004 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
__________________

newbie_canuck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.